Extending Onedrive for business to 5TB

Looking through the different Office 365 Enterprise plans the other day I noticed the following at the bottom:

4. Unlimited personal cloud storage for qualifying plans for subscriptions of five or more users, otherwise 1 TB/user. Microsoft will initially provide 1 TB/user of OneDrive for Business storage, which admins can increase to 5 TB/user. Request additional storage by contacting Microsoft support. Storage up to 25 TB/user is provisioned in OneDrive for Business. Beyond 25 TB, storage is provisioned as 25 TB SharePoint team sites to individual users.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/business/compare-more-office-365-for-business-plans

You can choose to extend for particular users or the entire organization.

Changing for all users:

Go to https://admin.onedrive.com and choose “Storage”. Change “Standard storage in GB” to desired size – 5120 GB equal 5TB.

For a particular user:
If you do not want to go all the way to extend it to 5 TB right away that is not a problem. Remember that StorageQuota needs to be set in mb:

Storage quotaIn mb
1 TB1048576
2 TB2097152
3 TB3145728
4 TB4194304
5 TB5242880

Before you can set the desired size on the Onedrive you need to obtain the OneDrive url for the user.

The OneDrive URL can be located by looking at the user at https://admin.microsoft.com – Selecting OneDrive and then “Link to files”.

You then need to connect to Sharepoint Online in Powershell as a Global Admin and run the following command:

Set-SPOSite -Identity <user’s OneDrive URL> -StorageQuota <quota>

“Someone” deleted my OneDrive files

We are shifting to OneDrive for business at our company. But the OneDrive for business client is acting differently compared to the Windows sync client when copying files to a file server.

Using folder redirection or Windows synchronization you just add files to the synchronization folder – and that’s it. When connection is present it will start copying.

With OneDrive for business it’s different. When you want to synchronize files, you add it to the synchronization folder as normal. The client then creates a list of content to be copied to OneDrive for business, and the list is passed along to the backend system of OneDrive.

Having internet connection while adding a load of files to be synchronizing – and then removing the connection (or shutdown the computer) is dangerous.

Microsoft have backend timer jobs running to check if the files on the received list is uploaded properly. It also checks if the files is uploaded incorrectly or if there are files form the list that have not been synchronized.

Those files are removed by server, and this activity is shown as someone deleted the file. This is a part of the cleanup that is running as part of the OneDrive backend backup.

Since OneDrive is a bidirectional synchronization – a deletion on the web portal will also affect the computers folder when it is turned on.

And since the file was never copied to the destination area in OneDrive there is no backup.